Your first DUI in Florida

Florida Statute: 316.193

Courts in Florida are required to impose a certain list of minimum punishments for a first-time DUI offense. If you are convicted of a first-time DUI, the minimum punishments listed below are mandatory:

  • Fines – from $500 - $1,000, depending on your blood-alcohol level. If your blood-alcohol level was .15 or higher, or if you were driving with a minor in the car, fines will increase to the $1,000 - $2,000 range.
  • Incarceration – Up to 6 months of jail. If your blood-alcohol level was .15 or higher, the possible maximum jail sentence is 9 months. If convicted of DUI manslaughter, a 4 year minimum mandatory prison term shall be imposed.
  • Probation – up to 12 months of probation may be given, but at no time can your jail sentence and your probation time combined exceed 12 months.
  • Vehicle impoundment – 10 day impoundment or immobilization of the vehicle operated or any one vehicle registered in the defendant's name. This 10 day period cannot be served while you are serving any jail sentence. The court may dismiss the order of impoundment if (1) the impoundment of your vehicle creates a hardship for someone in your family, or (2) the vehicle is operated solely by one of your employees or by a business owned by the defendant.
  • Driver license revocation – your Florida driver’s license shall be revoked for 6 to 12 months’ time.
  • Community service – you will serve a minimum of 50 hours of community service, or the judge may allow you to “buy out” your community service hours at a rate of $10 per hour.
  • Interlock device – if your blood-alcohol level was .15 or higher, or if there was a minor in the car at the time of your driving, the judge is required by law to impose the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for not less than 6 months.

Your first Florida DUI can be a very difficult experience to deal with. First-time DUI's often represent the first major offense in an individual's life, and the consequences are severe. My 24 years experience in the Tampa Bay area shall help minimize the devastating repercussions of your first DUI offense in Florida. Call me anytime on my personal cell phone at (813) 404-2013, or CLICK HERE TO CLAIM YOUR FREE DUI CASE REVIEW and DUI INFORMATION SHEET .

Search Engine Optimization Copyright © 2012 Search Engine Optimization by Elliottsweb.com Website Optimized by: Elliottsweb.com